Intentionate’s Stu Schaff Presented HFMA’s Bronze Founders Merit Award

In recognition to his contributions to the First Illinois Chapter of the Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA), Stu Schaff, founding principal of Intentionate Healthcare Advisors, was presented with HFMA’s William G. Follmer Bronze Award during an event on March 18, 2021. Stu currently serves as a co-chair of the First Illinois Chapter’s programming committee and a peer reviewer for the association’s hfm magazine. His previous contributions to the association include:

  • Serving as a member and a co-chair of the First Illinois Chapter’s certification committee
  • Serving as a member on the First Illinois Chapter’s medical group and provider value committees
  • Speaking at various First Illinois Chapter conferences, events, and webinars
  • Publishing articles in hfm

Stu was honored alongside Brian Pavona of BKD and Bart Richards of Claro Healthcare, who received the Robert H. Reeves Silver Award, and Matt Aumick of Lurie Children’s Hospital and Randy Gelb of Medical Business Bureau, who received the Frederick T. Muncie Gold Award.

About the Founders Merit Award Series

Source: HFMA

HFMA recognizes that its strength lies in volunteers, who contribute their time, ideas, and energy to serve the healthcare industry, their profession, and one another. Active participation in HFMA at the national, regional and/or chapter levels provides members with numerous opportunities for professional development, information, networking, and advocacy. Established in 1960, the Founders Merit Award Series acknowledges the contributions made by HFMA members. These awards are part of a merit-rating plan in which specific activities are assigned a range of point values.

HFMA encourages continuous active participation at the local and national levels. Therefore, the point system and award levels have been established to promote continuous active participation in HFMA.

The William G. Follmer Bronze Award is awarded after an individual has earned 25 (formerly 100) member points. This award is named after William G. Follmer, who is credited with the creation of the American Association of Hospital Accountants (AAHA) (now HFMA).

The Robert H. Reeves Silver Award is awarded to an individual who has earned 50 (formerly 200) total member points. Reeves, an organizing member of the AAHA, was elected president of AAHA in 1956 and was instrumental in creating the structure of AAHA.

The Frederick T. Muncie Gold Award is presented to a member who has earned a total of 75 (formerly 300) member points. This award honors Frederick T. Muncie, an organizing member of the AAHA, and the first president of the association (1947-1949). Muncie also assisted in the organization of the first AAHA chapter (First Illinois).

The Founders Medal of Honor was added in 1986 and is conferred by nomination of the Chapter Board of Directors. This prestigious award recognizes an individual who has been actively involved in HFMA for at least three years after earning the Muncie Gold Award, has provided significant service at the chapter, regional and/or national level in at least two of those years, and remains a member in good standing. A chapter may nominate members for this award at any time during the year.